Inmarsat welcomes the IMO’s Secretary-General

11 January 2017: Inmarsat was honoured to receive a visit from the Secretary General of the International Maritime Organization (IMO), Kitack Lim.

He was welcomed by Ronald Spithout, President, Inmarsat Martime, Peter Broadhurst, SVP Safety and Security, Inmarsat Maritime and a representative from the International Mobile Satellite Association (IMSO), to cement our 35 year relationship with the UN agency saving lives at sea.


Pictured in the Inmarsat Network Operations Centre, from left to right, are: Claudio Galli, Director, Inmarsat Global Service Operations; Kitack Lim, Secretary-General, IMO; Ronald Spithout, President, Inmarsat Maritime; Captain Moin Ahmed, Director General, IMSO; Ashok Mahapatra, Safety Division Director, IMO & Peter Broadhurst, SVP of Safety and Security, Inmarsat Maritime.

“Since Inmarsat’s inception in 1979 by the IMO, it has been our mission to protect the lives of global seafarers and provide them with a fundamental communication lifeline,” said Peter Broadhurst.

Long-standing relationship

“Shipping was one of the very first industries to adopt and widely implement strict international safety standards to protect lives at sea, and it is now bound by a comprehensive framework of global maritime safety regulations set out by the IMO in 1992 through the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS).

“When it comes to satellite safety systems, Inmarsat has the only GMDSS-approved safety services, for use on board vessels registered at 300 gross tonnage and above, and we are immensely proud of our heritage and long-standing relationship with the IMO.”

“As we look to the future, we are committed to investing, innovating and developing our vital safety services at sea to aid mariners and search and rescue teams, whatever their needs may be. Mr Lim’s visit further strengthens our historic relationship with the IMO, a relationship that spans more than 35 years”

Mr Lim is the eighth elected Secretary-General of the IMO and was elected as a council member (Republic of Korea) in June 2015 and Secretary-General on 1 January 2016.