Inmarsat-sponsored safety award goes to Maersk Line

28 February 2014: One of the largest container shipping companies in the world has scooped a prestigious safety award sponsored by Inmarsat.

Lloyds List Awards

Mike McNally, Head of Inmarsat Maritime, Americas, presented the Maritime Safety Award to Maersk Line at the inaugural Lloyd’s List North American Awards, in Texas, USA.

The award is given to a company showing exceptional commitment to improving safety standards in the shipping industry and is open to all companies across all sectors.

Safety investment

Maersk Line, which operates more than 600 vessels, had to demonstrate robust and effective improvements to their operations at sea or ashore, and show examples of safety innovation, investment in safety training and proven reductions to accident rates.

“Inmarsat is proud to sponsor the Maritime Safety Award and with a 34-year history of providing global maritime safety communications, we are an ideal partner for this vital category,” said Mike McNally.

“Maersk Lines is a worthy winner having shown its continued commitment to establishing structures and processes to review safety issues on all of their vessels, and collect the concerns expressed by their crews in monthly safety meetings.” 

This is the first year that North America has been included in Lloyd’s List international award events which are already held in Greece, Asia, Middle East/India, Australia and London every year.

Lloyds List
Maersk Line: