Beams cover oceans and major landmasses

Inmarsat-2 and Inmarsat-3 satellites

As Inmarsat was founded as a maritime communications operator, our first wholly-owned constellations – the Inmarsat-2 (I-2) and Inmarsat-3 (I-3) series – were positioned above the world’s sea-lanes to form four ocean regions:

  • Atlantic Ocean Region West (AOR-W), at 54° West
  • Atlantic Ocean Region East (AOR-E), at 15.5° West
  • Indian Ocean Region (IOR), at 64° East
  • Pacific Ocean Region (POR), at 178° East

The I-2 satellites were decommissioned in 2013 and 2014 after more than doubling their expected lifespan of 10 years.

Four of the five I-3 satellites remain in service.

Maritime I-3 satellite coverage

(click for PDF)

Alphasat and Inmarsat-4 satellites

Following the full deployment of the Inmarsat-4 (I-4) satellite constellation in 2009, a further three satellite regions were created over the Earth’s major landmasses.

  • I-4 F1 Asia-Pacific, at 143.5° East
  • I-4 F2 EMEA (Europe, Middle East and Africa), at 63.9° East
  • I-4 F3 Americas, at 98.4° West

Alphasat was launched in 2013 to supplement the I-4 network, at 24.9° East.

Alphasat and I-4 coverage map

(click for PDF)

Inmarsat-5 satellites

The Inmarsat-5 (I-5) satellites power our high-speed Global Xpress broadband service. Launched between 2013-2015, the constellation of three satellites covers the following regions:

  • I-5 F1 EMEA, at 63° East
  • I-5 F2 Americans and Atlantic Ocean Region, at 55° West
  • I-5 F3 Pacific Ocean Region, at 179° East

I-5 F4 was launched on 15 May 2017 to provide additional capacity and resilience to our Global Xpress network.

I-5 coverage map

(Click for PDF)
Inmarsat-5 coverage